2009 ASHG Awards and Addresses

Each year at the annual meeting of the American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG), addresses are given in honor of the society and a number of award winners. A summary of each of these addresses is given below. On the following pages, we have printed the Presidential Address and the addresses for the William Allan Award. Many of the other addresses, accompanied by pictures of the speakers, can be found at www.ashg.org.

Presidential Address

Edward McCabe

William Allan Award

The Allan Award, the major award given by ASHG, was established in 1961 in memory of William Allan (1881–1943), one of the first American physicians to conduct extensive research in human genetics. The Allan Award is presented annually to recognize substantial and far-reaching scientific contributions to human genetics; these must be carried out over a sustained period of scientific inquiry and productivity. It consists of an engraved medal and a monetary award presented at the annual meeting.

Recipient: Hunt Willard Introduction: Terry Hassold

Victor A. McKusick Leadership Award

This prestigious award is presented to an individual whose professional achievements have fostered and enriched the development of various human genetics disciplines. Potential recipients should exemplify the enduring leadership and vision required to ensure that the field of human genetics will flourish and successfully assimilate into the broader context of science, medicine, and health. A plaque and a monetary award are presented at the annual meeting.

Recipient: Arno Motulsky Introduction: Judith Hall

Curt Stern Award

The Stern Award honors the memory of Curt Stern (1902–1981) as an outstanding, pioneering human geneticist. This award is presented yearly for outstanding scientific achievements that occurred in the last ten years in human genetics. The work may be a single major discovery or

a series of contributions on a similar or related topic. A monetary award is presented at the annual meeting.

Recipients: David Haussler and James Kent

Introduction: Evan Eichler

Award for Excellence in Human Genetics Education

ASHG has established an award to recognize outstanding contributions to human-genetics education. Nominees must have made a contribution that is recognized nationally or internationally as being of exceptional quality and great importance to human genetics education.

Recipient: Bruce Korf Introduction: Mira Irons

C. W. Cotterman Awards

Each year, the Editorial Board of *The American Journal of Human Genetics* selects two articles that best represent outstanding contributions to the field of genetics. The awards go to the two best papers published in *The Journal* during the previous year of which the first author was either a pre- or postdoctoral trainee and an ASHG member. Certificates and monetary awards are presented at the annual meeting.

Recipients: Bingshan Li and Tao Yang

Student Awards

The Board of Directors, in consultation with the committee chairperson, determines the number of awards to be given for student presentations at the annual meeting, the categories for which they are given, and the amount of each award. The chairperson works closely on the Student Awards Program with the Executive Vice President and the chairperson of the Program Committee. Scoring is done by the Program Committee, and the top-ranking abstracts are submitted to the Awards Committee. Finalists are then selected by the committee prior to the annual

DOI 10.1016/j.ajhg.2010.02.013. ©2010 by The American Society of Human Genetics. All rights reserved.

meeting. Winners are chosen after the committee judges the finalists' presentations.

Recipients

ASHG Trainee Award Predoctoral Basic: Katarzyna Bryc ASHG Trainee Award Predoctoral Translational: Karen Berry ASHG Trainee Award Predoctoral Clinical: Jefferson Doyle

ASHG Trainee Award Postdoctoral Basic: Matthew Johnson

ASHG Trainee Award Postdoctoral Clinical: Christiane Zweier

ASHG Trainee Award Postdoctoral Translational: Lisa Baye